Poached Chicken Salad

Poached Chicken Salad
Serves 2
Can be doubled| Can be halved| Makes great leftovers

I can’t take complete credit for this recipe. Back when Susan used to cook for us, I was desperate for tasty yet light lunch options, and this was one of the first creations she presented me with. I was blown away right away, but I never thought to ask her for the recipe because I always imagined it as something complicated. But I had such an intense craving for it when I was pregnant, and when I called to ask her how to make it, I was stunned by the simplicity. Indian style curry powder isn’t something that’s traditionally used in chicken salad, but that’s the touch which makes this a unique recipe. I make it a few times a week for lunch when I’m home. Meenakshi shares it with me, and Mahir often requests it to take for lunch as well. Three happy Voras with one easy recipe.     ~Shivani

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts (about 1/2 pound)
1 medium carrot, finely chopped
2 celery stalks, finely chopped
1 bunch of scallions, finely chopped
1 handful of cilantro, finely chopped (optional)
1 tablespoon of low-calorie vegan mayo (I love the one by Spectrum)
1/2 to 1 teaspoon curry powder
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (optional)
salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions:

Boil the chicken breasts in a pot of water until done, about 10 to 15 minutes depending on the thickness of the breast, reserving about a tablespoon of the water.

Once cool, shred with your fingers or finely chop with a knife.

Mix with the vegetables, spices, mayo, cilantro and water (this makes the salad especially moist).

Serving Suggestions:

Try this salad tucked inside a whole wheat pita, in between two slices of bread or on top of greens with some whole grain crackers on the side. Canned tuna would also make a great substitution.

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to MySpaceAdd to NewsvineAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

2 thoughts on “Poached Chicken Salad

  1. Love the recipe always looking for good lunch options! Poached chicken breast is a healthier option, I sometimes use a grocery store bought rotisserie chicken wherever the recipe calls for it! Have to try Spectrum mayo, always have Miracle Whip Light at hand! I am sure there is a taste difference too!
    Love all your postings, great recipes and great tips too!

  2. Thanks! This is a tasty recipe, and I just made a batch today. Spectrum is great and has fewer artificial ingredients than a standard low-fat mayo. Let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

